Life Update: Fitness, Music, Travel, and of course, Toby

I’ve been inspired to write a post, so here’s a little life update!

One of my closest friends started her new blog and I was inspired to update my own. She’s training to run a half marathon (#fitnessgoals) and my goal in 2016 was to run a 10K. Unfortunately, it didn’t happen last year so I’ve been motivated to accomplish it this year!

 

Fitness

In 2015 I ran my first 5K and felt so accomplished. Growing up I was never a long distance runner but I excelled at short-distance sprinting (so I guess it’s fitting that I got a greyhound!). But it’s been always been a goal of mine to build up that endurance.

635884178233935187-588696306_late20to20school

I suppose the reason why there was such a huge gap between running a 5K and running my next race was accountability and having an end goal to accomplish. When I ran my 5K, I signed up with another co-op student (I was currently on a co-op term) and paid the fee to participate. Knowing that I had someone else I didn’t want to disappoint and the fact that I paid money to participate with a set end date, motivated me to train.

This year, I’ve signed up for a 10K race in September and I was able to convince another friend to sign up for the same race. This time I have two friends keeping me accountable for my training! Now that I had my two criteria to motivate me to start training, there’s no excuse.

My goal for this race is to finish it in under 1h:15m. It’ll take a lot of training to reach that time, but I want to be able to set a goal that makes me nervous. Originally, I had 1h:30m in mind, but I knew I could accomplish that. The idea of finishing it at a faster time made me nervous; but I knew setting goals that gives you those butterflies are the goals you should be making!

In addition to training for my 10K, I’ve also realized I have no upper body strength. At the peak of my fitness abilities (aka when I was in high school), I was able to do proper push-ups. Now with my spaghetti arms, I’m barely able to do five. So, I’ve decided that each night I would do as many push-ups as I can and the following night, I would do at least 1 more. I’m hoping with this I’ll be able to have stronger arms and be able to do push-ups like I used to.

 

Music

This is a little embarrassing to share but I’ve embraced this rekindled passion of mine… K-pop.

In high school I was a huge fan of K-pop; everyone around me knew I was into the genre and gave me K-pop-related gifts featuring my “husbands” as I would affectionately call my favourite male idols. However I lost the interest over time during undergrad and only listened to the occasional songs here and there.

However, I guess my obsession with K-pop was rekindled when I went to Korea in April of 2016. It just so happened that the program, Produce 101 was on the hotel TV and I watched the finale. Long story short, this snowballed into my rekindled obsession with K-pop.

My current favourite groups are: Got7, BTS, and Monsta X. The obsession with Got7 and Monsta X is quite shocking for me when I reflect on myself and the alarming amount of time I spend watching their videos on YouTube and Vlive.

My all-time favourite girl group, Sistar (aka my QUEENS), who I consistently listened to for the past seven years, recently disbanded. I was legitimately shocked and heartbroken to hear the news and teared up many times watching their good-bye stage performances. Their comeback song, “Lonely” definitely pulls on the heartstrings and is different from their usual up-bear summer hits. I’m not sure what I’ll do without my “Summer Queens” but I’m excited for their futures as individual artists and wishing them the best.

One of the great things about being a fan of K-pop again is that I made a work-friend who talks about K-pop with me! It’s nice sharing our favourite artists with each other and I’m learning a lot more about Korean music. So it’s no surprise my Spotify playlists are filled with K-pop and I’m seriously considering if I should just make a trip to Chicago or New York to see Monsta X… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

 

Travel

This summer I will be heading to Los Angeles with a friend to hit up the west coast! I’m so excited to travel and explore new places and see new things. It’s been over a year since I’ve gotten on a plane, so I’m excited to get out of the country!

So far we’ve only booked the essentials (flight, accommodations, car rental) and decided on a few things we want to do. One of them being DISNEYLAND!! My wallet will take a huge hit for this, but it’s a childhood dream to go to one of the American Disney theme parks. I’ve been to Hong Kong Disneyland, but from what I’ve heard, it’s nothing compared to the American parks! I can almost guarantee I will tear up when I get to Disneyland.

If there are any suggestions or “must-do” things we should add to our list, please let me know!

 

Toby

20170505_080038

My little goober has been doing very well. He’s transitioned nicely into retirement and is doing much better with separation anxiety. What I have found that helped us is: leaving the TV on while we’re gone, only giving him his Kong (filled with yummy treats) when we’re away, and ignoring him when we come home. By doing this, he’ll enjoy being alone because he gets the Kong, won’t feel alone because the TV’s on, and we’re not making a big deal out of being away by being calm when returning.

It’s been rainy, wet, and miserable outside recently so Toby hasn’t been getting his usual longer walk or zoomie time in the backyard. This makes him extra excitable when something interesting happens on our walk. He’s usually very chill on walks and seems like he has zero energy to walk. But when he sees another dog or a person he recognizes, he gets pretty excited. I’m working with him to let him know that this excessive excitable behaviour (jumping up, tugging on the leash, and nipping) is not acceptable. The great thing about my adoption groups is that they’re full of knowledge and great resources for anything and everything!

And of course, more embarrassing baby names I call my dog to add to the list: baby bear, sugar bear, sugar butt (yes, I call my dog this name and you can see the progression of how this name came about), goober, goober face, booger bear, honey, and honey pants. I’m pretty sure there are other very embarrassing names I call my dog, but those are the ones that come to mind.

 

Miscellaneous updates:

And of course here’s some other updates that I wanted to share:

  • I went to Niagara Falls for the first time in May… I was born and raised in Canada and hadn’t seen the falls until recently.
  • Season 3 of “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” is not bad!
  • Currently watching The Bachelorette… yes, this show is quite addicting
  • Work is work. I’m getting a hang of my role and feeling more confident in my role each day!

So here’s to an exciting second half of 2017!

Until the next post,

signature-1line-jpg

One thought on “Life Update: Fitness, Music, Travel, and of course, Toby

Leave a Reply

