New Year, New Me / New Hair, Who Dis?

Happy New Year everyone!! Hoping everyone had a wonderful holiday season and getting back into the grind, whatever it is, isn’t so bad!

From my last post, I mentioned I was getting a hair cut. Well, I did!! The experience was enjoyable and I liked my stylist who did my hair. She was patient, very easy to talk to, and gave me a haircut I wanted. I guess I’m still getting used to the length difference, but having done this twice before makes it easier to transition.

So, before the snip, my hair looked a little something like this:

20170108_110505

Before the cut

I told my stylist that I wanted a lob (long bob) and showed her a few pictures I had in mind. Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough foresight and save the sources of where I got the pictures, but one of the inspired looks came from Jenn Im:

3e45c232d667197c187acbbc5cbfc418

Hair inspiration from Jenn Im

I then told her that I don’t have an exact amount of hair that I wanted to donate; I just wanted to donate as much as I can while maintaining a length I was comfortable having (shoulder length). So we measured it out and we were able to get thirteen (yes, 13) inches of hair!

20170108_111011

I definitely was expecting the number to be 11 or 12 inches, but I’m so glad I was able to donate that extra inch. The thought that got me through the emotional rollercoaster of cutting off that much hair is that a beautiful, strong woman out there needs this hair way more than me. I should mention that I am very attached to my hair and letting something go like that doesn’t come so easy for me. I was restless the night before and constantly worried about my hair. But in the end, I’m glad I did it and so far liking the change a lot!

The finished product looked a little something like this:

The haircut is essentially a lob with very soft (and long) layers. She feathered out the ends of my hair so that I’ll have a uniform length all around my head. It’ll definitely take some time to get used to. I purchased a flat iron recently so that I can straighten out anything and attempt to learn how to curl with it.

And just to mention this again, the hair is being donated to Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths campaign.

So 2017, here’s the new me. I’ve let go of my long hair, I’ve started a new job, and I’m staying true to who I am. Here’s to a brand new adventure!

 

Until the next post,

signature-1line-jpg

Leave a Reply

