A New Chapter

As you may have seen in previous posts, I’ve been searching for a full-time job opportunity after graduation. It’s my pleasure to share with you that I’ve found a new job… and I started a few weeks ago!

This new role I’ve taken on is a sales type role at the head office of an international automotive company. I’ll keep it vague for now. The Canadian headquarters is close to where I am and I’m excited to learn! I thought I’d leave 2016 off with a good note and write little about this big new adventure that will really take off in the new year.

I must say, the job hunting process was not fun. It wasn’t easy, it was challenging in a big mental way. During university I was lucky to have an internal job board where students have an easier time finding a job than in the “real world”. And I suppose my expectations after graduation were unrealistic as I thought the job hunt would be a piece of cake. Boy was I wrong. After around 4 to 5 months of searching, I landed this job.

Now, it might not have been specifically marketing (like I wanted), but it provides me the opportunity to learn about analytics, numbers, and get my feet wet somewhere. I promised myself to keep a positive outlook on this new role and stay positive for 2017.

But I think for anyone who is job hunting out there: keep hanging on. You’ll find something. I think there’s a lot of learning with taking a risk and applying to a role you may not be fully qualified for, or maybe a role that isn’t what you imagined. I believe that no matter what experience you have, it’s what you make of it!

The thing that gets me nervous, although it shouldn’t really, is this three month probation period. Now, I’d like to preface and say I’ve always been risk averse and sometimes err on the side of caution. That being said, I’m always fearful of announcing news as life will throw curve balls at you and things may not turn out the way you want it to.

I suppose this paranoia and fear of risk will push me to work hard and make a lasting impression. I’ve already felt it now as I feel like I should act a certain way because I want to impress everyone. But as a reminder to myself, I should stay true to who I am and work hard and work smart.

To lighten things up, I promised myself that I would donate my hair (that is quite long) either when I get a job or in the new year, whichever comes first. Note, my haircut experience won’t be as dramatic as Rapunzel’s in Tangled! Now, seeing how I got a job before the year ended, I didn’t get a chance to book anything and the haircut will have to wait for the new year… oops!

For the past four years, I’ve been going to a fantastic salon in Waterloo, ON where the service has been impeccable. I’ve booked an appointment in the new year at a salon in the GTA where I cut my hair to donate for the first time 5 or 6 years ago. Although I much prefer the salon in Waterloo, this place isn’t too bad. I’m looking at various hairstyles online and picking one that I want and will be easy to maintain. Blog post about the hair-do for sure!

It’s a funny thing when you realize something is happening for real, you get cold feet. There is no doubt I’ll be donating at least 9″ of hair to Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths campaign but I feel like I didn’t get to enjoy my long hair as much as I should have! But I know that hair always grows back and a beautiful woman out there needs this hair much more than I do.

Anyway, cheers to an interesting 2016. It has brought a lot of ups and downs but I’m grateful for all the learning experience there were. The biggest and BEST highlight of 2016 is my beautiful adopted greyhound. He’s the light of my life and I love him so dearly. I can’t wait to see what adventures we’ll go on in the new year!

So 2017, I’m ready for you!

 

Until the next post,

signature-1line-jpg

One thought on “A New Chapter

Leave a Reply

