Baking for Toby Part II

The baking adventures are making another appearance! This time, it’s pumpkin cookies!

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I guess lately I haven’t been inspired and the drafts I have didn’t really want to make their debut yet on my blog. BUT, I was bit by the baking bug and a friend and I decided to bake!

One of the members in my adoption group’s Facebook group mentioned a recipe for dog treats and I just had to make it. It’s peanut butter and pumpkin cookies! It just so happened that I had a tin of pumpkin in my basement and it just needed to be used up. Not only that, pumpkin is fantastic for dogs and their health with many benefits!

large

The Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin (NOT pie filling)
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter (make sure dog-safe!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
20161205_151249-2

Ingredients!

The recipe is very simple… just get all the ingredients, dump into bowl, mix, roll out, cut out, and bake for the necessary time! The great thing about these cookies are that they’re people-safe too. After the cookies were made we decided to have our own taste! Not bad if you ignore the fact that they’re not that flavourful and the texture isn’t anything like a cookie or bread. But still edible!

 

When we were making these cookies, we originally halved the recipe as we thought 25 servings would be a lot. But as we made the first batch, we realized that the full recipe was just the right amount so we made round two of cookies. Luckily my friend also had festive cookie cutters (gingerbread person and star) to get us into the festive baking mood!

 

As we were making these cookies, we decided to name the gingerbread people using gender neutral names (I know, we’re cool). Taylor, Leslie, Ashley, Alex… those names were obviously used for our gingerbread family. But my most favourite of all was when we tried to make up our own gender neutral name and ended up with “Gingerfer”.

giphy

We ended up making people cookies afterwards since we had so much leftover pumpkin and they were DELICIOUS. We added chocolate chips and walnuts, and replaced the eggs and butter with coconut oil and applesauce. So they were almost vegan until the icing on top which had milk. I’m sure if we had almond milk or another milk substitute, it would’ve been fully vegan. BUT we decided to name these people cookies “Gingerfers” because that name sounded like food and WHY NOT.

Anyway, Toby really enjoyed those treats. I would be careful with the peanut butter because too much causes my dog to get runny poops. So, if you’d like, you can replace the peanut butter with applesauce instead. I hope this post inspires you to get festive, get baking, and enjoy the holidays with loved ones!

sponge1

 

Until the next post,

signature-1line-jpg

2 thoughts on “Baking for Toby Part II

Leave a Reply

