I LOVE Tartar Busters!

Okay, maybe not for my enjoyment, but Toby sure loves chewing away at them and is always very excited when I have one for him. And I love how they get his teeth so clean!

Oral hygiene for dogs is critical as it keeps your pup happy and healthy. Not only that, I personally hate the smell of Toby’s fishy breath when kissing his face so keeping his teeth clean is important! One thing I want to avoid as long as I can is any sort of dental surgery. Greyhounds are notorious for their bad teeth and I’ve heard so many stories of greyhounds needing tooth/teeth extractions. And those procedures don’t come cheap either!

Along with regular brushing (which I need to get better at), I love giving him a weekly tartar buster to help with that. I see those ads on TV for dental sticks to give your dogs, but nothing beats a piece of all-natural, no-preservative beef bone and meat for your dog to chew on!

What I get are “tartar busters” (pictured above). I’ve found these at my local Bulk Barn and Global Pet Foods. They’re very affordable (around $3 per bone) and hours of entertainment for your pup! All they do is chew, chew, chew away at the bone, trying to scrape off the meat. While they’re doing that, the bone is essentially brushing and getting the tartar off their teeth. If your dog is kibble-fed, tartar build-up will happen. That’s why as soon as I land a job (fingers crossed it happens soon), I’m going to finish off his current bag of kibble and start him on a raw diet.

20160912_121218

Chewing away at a tartar buster!

Things to note:

  • Some bleeding is fine and totally normal! Think of it as a little bleeding you get when you floss your teeth.
  • Tartar busters are MESSY! Let them chew outside or lay something under them as it can get slobbery.
  • SUPERVISION IS IMPORTANT. As soon as the bone is getting small, take it away as your dog might want to swallow it and they can choke on it!
  • Limit to one (1) tartar buster every 7-10 days.
  • Dehydrated chicken or duck feet are also great! I’ve left a little tip in my previous post, which you can check out here.
  • Continue your regular dental care with your dog! Although it gets most tartar off, it’s important to maintain their teeth.
  • Always conduct your own research and consult your veterinarian if you’re not sure of anything.

 

Until the next post,

signature-1line-jpg

2 thoughts on “I LOVE Tartar Busters!

  1. Nichole says:

    Looks like Toby is enjoying himself! 🙂 I need to get better at brushing, too. We give the occasional femur bone from the butcher to help with their teeth and it makes a load of difference!

    Like

    • Tangerine says:

      It’s amazing the difference a bone can make for their teeth! Perhaps I can check out the butcher or grocery store and see if I can get him a raw bone! I haven’t tried that yet, but I’m sure my dog will love it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

